Greenough Lake

I have been packing and moving the last week or so and haven’t been able to get out painting.  Now that I am a little more settled its time to start posting some more art.  Red Lodge, Montana is a beautiful place with an unlimited number of potential paintings!  I am so excited to be here!

The trickiest times to paint en plein air are when the lighting conditions are rapidly changing.  Cloudy scenes, sunrise, and sunset specifically.  However, this doesn’t mean that we should avoid these situations.  I find these times to be the most striking in term of creating an interesting painting.  Today the clouds were moving overhead and casting shadows randomly on the landscape.  I attempted to capture the foreground in light and background in shadow as I found that to be the most striking.  Not sure I accomplished it this time but I did give it my best effort.

Greenough

2 thoughts on “Greenough Lake

Leave a Reply

